+233 (0) 303 970 273 info@gawest.gov.gh GW-0007-2370

The Assembly

The Assembly

About Ga West Municipal Assembly

The Ga West Municipal is one of the 261 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana, and forms part of the 29  MMDAs in the Greater Accra Region

The Ga West Municipal Assembly was carved out of the erstwhile Ga Municipal which was created in 1988 in pursuance of the government decentralization and local government reform policy.

Originally it was formerly part of the then-larger Ga District in 1988, until the eastern part of the district was split to create Ga East District in 2004; thus the remaining part has been renamed as Ga West District.

Later, the western part of the district was split off to create the first Ga South Municipal District on 29 February 2008 (which was later split into two new districts: Weija-Gbawe Municipal District (capital: Weija) and the present Ga South Municipal District (capital: Ngleshie Amanfro) on 15 March 2018), with Weija as its capital; while Ga West was later elevated to municipal district assembly status during that same year to become Ga West Municipal District.

However on 15 March 2018, the eastern part of the district was split off to create Ga North Municipal District, thus the remaining part has been retained as Ga West Municipal District. The municipality is located in the western part of Greater Accra Region and has Amasaman as its capital town.

The Municipality lies within latitude 5°35° North, 5°29’ North and longitude 0°10’ West and 0°24’ West.

It shares common boundaries with Ga East Municipal and Accra Metropolitan Assembly to the east, Akwapim South District to the north and Ga South Municipal and Ga Central Municipal to the south. It occupies a land area of approximately 284.08 sq km with about 412 communities.

The population of the Municipality according to 2021 population and housing census stands at 314,299 with 155,543 males and 158,756 females.

The Municipality is made up of seventeen(17) Electoral Areas divided into into four(4) administrative zonal councils.


To become the most effective and efficient Municipal Assembly that serves the interest of it’s citizens in an environment that promotes development.


To improve upon the quality of life of the people in the Municipality through efficient and effective mobilization of both human and material resources for the provision of socio-economic service.

Core Values

  • Integrity
  • Excellence
  • Teamwork
  • Accountability